Media item   Grace's prepare to celebrate ten glorious years!
Mon 01-Jan-2007 

Grace's Cricket Club


1 January 2007

Grace's prepare to celebrate ten glorious years!

Grace's, the only gay cricket club in the world, will celebrate its 10th anniversary in 2007. In a sporting world where homophobia still remains an issue, this is a remarkable milestone for the club and the sport of cricket.

The club will celebrate this anniversary with an array of events. The highlight of the year though will be Grace's move into competitive cricket as they join the Middlesex Sunday Cricket League. Grace's will play 9 fixtures in this league throughout the season in addition to their usual selection of friendly games. Newly appointed Grace's captain, Jonathan Hardisty, summed up the expectation in the club for the coming season, "2007 is going to be a great year for Grace's. We are all very excited about joining a league and celebrating our 10th birthday! This is an important step for us in developing the club, attracting new members and ensuring it goes from strength to strength as it enters its second decade."

As well as joining a league, a number of other celebratory events are planned including a tour to Holland, a celebration dinner, getting everyone together who has been involved in the club's first 10 years, a fundraising BBQ at Grace's home ground and some surprise 'one-off' fixtures.

The celebrations kicked off at Grace's annual Christmas Party and awards which was held at the King Edward VI in Islington on the 16th December. For further details on Grace's including how to become a member, our fixtures and social events please log onto our website at


For further information please contact Mark Bunker, Grace's Media Officer on 07843 291987.

Notes for Editors


Connect with us
Graces on Facebook
Tweet with us
Graces on Twitter


Sheen Park CC
Sun 25-Jun-2017 

Southall Dragons
Sun 02-Jul-2017 

Roehampton Bats
Sun 09-Jul-2017 

Piccadilly Pitchers
Sun 16-Jul-2017 

Sun 23-Jul-2017 

Sun 30-Jul-2017